• What is the #1 film school?

Posted by Harry on at

It is my dream to make really good movies and become a film maker however I am not so good at being self-taught like others. I need guidance and I believe that going to Uni is the way for me. I live in United Kingdom and I am conducting research on multiple Universities that I could attend. I see so many mixed opinions from graduates that confuse me. I really want to attend the best Uni that I can and use all my enthusiasm in my favor and learn as much as I can. I want to learn from the best teachers. What do you believe to be the number 1 film school?

Julia replied 1 year, 7 months ago 3 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • István

at

The thing with these “number one” schools is that none of them is actually number one. It is a matter of preference and location. You can get a “top 10” best schools in the world. The more you read it, the more you will see this top is different from one website to another. In US and Canada, American Film Institute (AFI) is considered to be the #film school in the world, but then again, so are CalArts or Los Angeles Film School. If you want to know the #1 film school in United Kingdom, you will read online that it’s London Film School. But UK is in Europe so the #1 film school in Europe is considered Academy of Performing Arts’ Film and TV School (FAMU) (Prague) or La Fémis (which is in Paris). For someone who lives in Asia, the #1 film school is either Beijing Film Academy, which is in China, or Korean Academy of Film Arts (KAFA), which is in South Korea.