How can I do the acting in my own student film?

• How can I do the acting in my own student film?

Posted by Julia on 2022-05-17 at 3:43 AM

Good day!
    I am Julia and I am extremely passionate about filmmaking. For this reason, I am a filmmaking student. In the past weeks, I have been struggling with my assignment of making a short film, featuring myself. The assignment specifically asks to explore the acting side of filmmaking and create a short film of maximum five minutes, where each of us film ourselves, acting on a narrative of our choice. The assignment script can be original or it can be inspired from an existing film (which we will have to give credit to, of course).

I have never done this before and for me everything is still new. For this reason, I am here to seek wisdom for those of you who are more experienced. How should I proceed in doing the acting in my own film? What do I do to act natural? I tried filming myself but the result was very cringe and I was very unnatural. My voice was also very off as well and it sounded robotic.

Thank you for your time and I appreciate every advice you will give me!

Julia

Julia replied 1 month, 2 weeks ago 6 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • Acting

Maura

Organizer
    2022-05-17 at 3:45 AM

Hi Julia! We actually have a member who is more experienced than I am in doing exactly this. I will tag him: @capricious

• Acting

Julia

2022-05-17 at 3:46 AM

Thank you, Maura! 🤗

• Acting

István

2022-05-17 at 7:42 AM

Turn on the camera and let it turned on. Let it record everything. Take a deep breath and practice. Call a friend on the phone for a few minutes, just to forget the camera is there. After the call is over, try practicing again. Don’t take it seriously – after all, you can always record again. If you stop taking it seriously, you might be more natural and forget the camera is there. You might even love the result!

• Acting

Julia

2022-05-18 at 4:39 AM

This is a great idea! Thank you, Istvan!