Removing background sounds

• Removing background sounds

Post-production Group lewis updated 2 months, 2 weeks ago 3 Members · 5 Posts
  • Post-production Group

lewis

2021-11-08 at 5:16 AM

Hi all.

This is my first post on the site. I’m a filmmaker but currently I’m editing another persons project.

In a certain scenes there’s a lot of background noise. I’m not sure if they used lav mics or what but it’s set down a canal, and I can hear lots of birds, flowing water, wind, which changes with each shot.

Using premiere pro, I’ve added a highpass plug in and denoise plug in to the audio track to minimise the background sounds and added two wild tracks found on Freesound to disguise the changing environmental sounds, but they’re still present.

Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks,

Lewis

• Post-production Group

Bart Weiss

2021-11-08 at 11:02 AM

Hi there, this is not uncommon. Many first-time filmmakers do not prioritize getting good sound. My first thought would be to do ADR (dubbing) if you can bring the actors in and can do it. That would give you the best sound.

Depending on where you are, I would look for someone with sound editing skills to fix this There is software from companies like https://www.izotope.com/ that have great plug ins. They are not inexpensive and do take some skill to use. if you can afford them give it a try.

it is very important to fix this, you can’t send a film out that people cannot hear.

• Post-production Group

lewis

2021-11-08 at 11:09 AM

Hi Bart.

Thank you for the reply. It is appreciated. I didn’t realise that such plug ins were available to buy. It’s great to have this website at hand for such time I can buy these for future projects.

The actors can be heard in the film, it’s just the superficial annoyance of these environmental sounds changing between shots.