• Do I really need a film degree?

Posted by Harry on at

As I was reading more about becomming a successful filmmaker, what worries me is that I stumbled upon many articles that encourage people to avoid film schools because they do not really need degrees to become successful filmmakers.

I am not the self-taught type of person and I believe that going to Uni would help me because a Film School has teachers that can guide you and provide you knowledge which would be very difficult to obtain otherwise.

What worries me however is that it seems that many film producers and directors do not have any training or degree. Which means you can land a job in this industry without graduating from Uni. This is a bit confusing for me as I am researching more Film Schools that I could attend (I live in United Kingdom) and I do not know which way to head towards, because Film School also seems to be expensive. Do I really need a film degree? What is your input on this?

It can be extremely confusing when you do not know anyone who has either graduated or attended film school to ask for feedback.

Kim replied 1 year, 3 months ago 9 Members · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • István

at

No, you don’t need a film degree to become a filmmaker. The fact about Film Schools is that you only need to attend them if you wish to, it is not mandatory. Many people learn everything they know by themselves and they would rather invest the money they would spend for education to buy equipment and create their first movies instead. What would truly help you to become a better filmmaker is to look for internships or volunteer for others who make movies. There are many small jobs that no one really wants to do that you could apply for when you are just starting.

• Julia

at