Advice Needed! Autumn Short Film About A Poem

• Creator
    Discussion

• Julia
    Participant

I saw a suggestion on the forums about Short Film ideas that could be shot during this Autumn. One idea in particular vibed with me and I was thinking to give it a try.
    The idea is to create a short film using a poem. As I was thinking more on how to actually do this, I stumbled upon a few obstacles:
    Problem No. 1: I am not a writer, therefore, I do not know how to write poems. Could I use a poem that is available on the internet? I was thinking about “The Raven” by Edgar Allan Poe. Could I use his poem without having copyright issues?
    Problem No. 2: I am not a good actor and I do not have any friend or mate that wishes to help me out with this. I am camera shy, too. I was thinking of shooting videos of nature and birds and such for the short film. I am not a good director either, as I am a student and I am still learning. Any suggestion would help me on how to shoot this short film.

And Problem No. 3: What advice would you have for me regarding the audio track? Should I use a dramatic voice on a slow pace?

• You could find an old house or an old abandoned house and film the autumn leaves around it and how the wind blows. The hardest part would be to find an actual raven to film but I guess you could find one in a forest. Or maybe film a crow if you do not find a raven 😅

• That’s actually a good idea!

• In the country side, you can find many birds and you still get the Autumn scenery. Maybe you could talk to a farmer to let you film a few shots on his farm.

• The problem is that the country side is a bit far from where I am living and I don’t know where I could find such a farm.

• Problem No. 1: The poem should be in the public domain so you shouldn’t have any copyright issues, as long as you mention the author.